Taking perspective: an essential PM skill

The other day I was in a meeting with one of my teams. There were people from various groups – Customer Success, Design, QA and Engineering. And I found myself debating with every one of them.

Later I thought – why am I debating with everyone? Do I not agree with anyone? What is wrong with me?

But then I realized – ah that wasn’t so bad. You see, I was taking perspective.

One of the master PM skills is representing who is not in the room. I was often playing the role of the customer. In other cases I was not representing people who were not in the room necessarily, but advocating for people in the room who were not speaking up (or maybe they might have if I had given them a chance :)).

Anyhow I found this happens more often than not recently. So I must be doing something right – or messing up entirely.

Leave a comment